Brother Ali Announces New Album, Reveals “Own Light (What Hearts Are For)”

blame it on Meka February 28, 2017

Following a five-year hiatus, Brother Ali announced that he will return with his first full-length album since Mourning in America and Dreaming in Color in 2012 with the killer “Pen To Paper.”

Returning with a second offering in as many days, “Own Light (What Hearts Are For),” the track officially serves as the first single from Ali’s upcoming sixth album All the Beauty in This Whole Life. Produced in its entirety by Atmosphere‘s Ant, the album will be released on May 5th.


“This entire album is based on the reality that beauty is the splendor of truth,” says Ali. “Beauty in all of its forms is the outward manifestation of love and virtue. It soothes the soul and pulls it gently toward the truth it communicates. Every word and note of this album is intended to either reflect beauty, or expose the ugliness that blocks us from living lives of meaning.”

Check out the album’s tracklist below and keep scrolling for “Own Light (What Hearts Are For).”

  1. Pen To Paper f. Amir Sulaiman
  2. Own Light (What Hearts Are For)
  3. Special Effects f. deM Atlas
  4. Can’t Take That Away
  5. Dear Black Son
  6. We Got This f. Sa-Roc
  7. Uncle Usi Taught Me
  8. Pray For Me
  9. It Ain’t Easy
  10. Never Learn
  11. Tremble
  12. Before They Called You White
  13. The Bitten Apple f. Idris Philips
  14. Out Of Here
  15. All The Beauty In This Whole Life