OutKast and Black Panther Collide on J.Period’s ‘Wakanda Forever Ever’ Mixtape

blame it on Shake April 19, 2018

[Artwork by Dan Lish]

OutKast and the Black Panther universe collide on J.Period‘s brand new mixtape, Wakanda Forever Ever.

After teaming with Lin-Manuel Miranda and The Roots to create The Hamilton Mixtape, the Brooklyn DJ/producer is back with another masterful creation—taking listeners on a journey into the secret forests between Wakanda and Stankonia.

Flipping the Black Panther score and soundtrack, Period provides a new collection of OutKast remixes that explore the roots of hip hop in the African drum, themes of empowerment and identity, and the musical intersections between the Afro-futuristic world of Black Panther and the intergalactic funk of Big Boi and André 3000.

Peep the tracklist and press play below. Downloads will be available tomorrow (4/20) on J.Period’s website.

  1. “Wakandan Airlines (J.Period Remix)” [Sky High]
  2. “Seasons Change” b/w “Afro-Future”
  3. “Wakanda vs. Babylon (J.Period Remix)”
  4. “T’Challa vs. Killmonger (J.Period Remix)”
  5. “T’Rosa Parks (J.Period Remix)”
  6. “Royal Panther” b/w “Wakandan Belle”
  7. “All Hail The Dora Milaje (Interlude)”
  8. “Wakandan Church Cookout (J.Period Remix)”
  9. “Storytellin’ (Fela-bration Remix)” f. Daniel Crawford
  10. “WakandATLiens (J.Period Remix)”
  11. “Jabariland Outkasts (J.Period Remix)” [Outtro]
  12. “Bombs Over Wakanda (J.Period Remix)
  13. “T’Challa in ATL (J.Period Remix)” [Bonus]
  14. “The Story of Hip Hop (N’Jobu Speaks)” f. Sterling K. Brown [Download only]