Joell Ortiz Taps Big K.R.I.T. for “Learn You” Single

blame it on Shake June 25, 2019

Fresh off the release of his BoxTalk EP with Salaam Remi, Joell Ortiz is right back at it with his next full-length, Monday, dropping August 30th.

“I’m back to work. Monday is the start of the week. The grind!” Joell says. “Working people normally dread Mondays. Not me though; I embrace them! Feels like another opportunity. Another chance. The beginning of what’s ahead. On Monday I talk about life. Old me, new me, and the guy that next Monday may introduce to you all.”

To help kick off the campaign, Joell has teamed up with Big K.R.I.T. (who has an album of his own, K.R.I.T. IZ HERE, dropping July 12th) for the project’s first single, “Learn You.”

“Working with K.R.I.T. was super dope! We basically had long conversations over the phone about life and human things for about a week or so before we even talked about music. Just Vibing,” Joell says of his time working with K.R.I.T. “‘Learn You’ was basically one of those convos turned audio. We talked about how the sacrifices we make to chase dreams are heavy. His production and choice of words in that hook made me tell my sons I’m sorry for the first time in my life. Hope y’all enjoy this song as much as I do.”

Check out both the song and tracklist–which features production from Nottz, Heatmakerz (who laced Joell and Fred the Godson something proper for their Gorilla Glue project), Apollo Brown (Mona Lisa still gets spins), J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League, and more–below.

  1. “Monday” (prod. The Lasso)
  2. “Captain” (prod. Heatmakerz)
  3. “Sip Slow” (prod. Apollo Brown)
  4. “Champion” (prod. Heatmakerz)
  5. “Anxiety” (prod. Nottz)
  6. “Same Time” (prod. Apollo Brown)
  7. “Learn You” f. Big K.R.I.T. (prod. Big K.R.I.T.)
  8. “Screens” (prod. J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League)
  9. “Jamaican Food” (prod. Heatmakerz)
  10. “Before Hip Hop” (prod. Hesami)
  11. “Momma” f. Blakk Soul (prod. Nottz)
  12. “Grammy” (prod. J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League)