Gang Starr Announce New Album ‘One Of The Best Yet’ + Drop “Bad Name” Single

blame it on Meka October 18, 2019

Back in September, and to the delight of many, DJ Premier took to his social media accounts to tease a new album from Gang Starr — the first since 2003’s The Ownerz — is on the horizon. Following that, a new single from the group, “Family & Loyalty” with J. Cole, hit the e-waves.

So, yes, in case you are still unsure, there will be a new album from Preemo and (the late) Guru: One of the Best Yet. A 16-track affair that comes equipped with an array of guests–including Talib Kweli, Ne-Yo, Nitty Scott, Q-Tip, Royce 5’9, Big Shug, Freddie Foxxx, Group Home, and more.

And yes, there will be a new “Militia” track.

Even more, the album is coming sooner than you think: November 1st.

Ahead of the album’s drop, Gang Starr has shared the album’s second single “Bad Name.” Press play and pee the tracklist below.

  1. “The Sure Shot (Intro)”
  2. “Lights Out” f. M.O.P.
  3. “Bad Name”
  4. “Hit Man” f. Q-Tip
  5. “What’s Real” f. Group Home & Royce 5’9″
  6. “Keith Casim Elam (Interlude)”
  7. “From A Distance” f. Jeru the Damaja
  8. “Family & Loyalty” f. J. Cole
  9. “Get Together” f. Ne-Yo & Nitty Scott
  10. “NYGz/GS 183rd (Interlude)”
  11. “So Many Rappers”
  12. “Business Or Art” f. Talib Kweli
  13. “Bring It Back Here”
  14. “One Of The Best Yet (Big Shug Interlude)”
  15. “Take Flight (Militia pt.4)” f. Big Shug & Freddie Foxxx
  16. “Bless the Mic”