Westside Gunn Delivers Shady Records Debut, ‘Who Made The Sunshine’

blame it on Meka October 2, 2020

At this point, the DopeHouse is an unabashed Griselda Records appreciation site, and you’re just going to have to deal with it.

Following Pray For Paris in April and FlyGod Is An Awesome God 2 in July, Westside Gunn is the first solo act out of the camp to release his major label debut, with Who Made The Sunshine.

The first GxFR/Shady Records release since WWCD in 2019, Gunn described the album as “FlyGod meets Supreme Blientele.”

“Every project has been painted different and with purpose,” he continued. “I know I’ll be done rapping soon, but I have to give you WSG on a different level. This project, I swear is my best work to date and I know it’s great because it took me a week to make and not two days lol. This is what Hip Hop is ALL about. I feel young on this album. I promise you never heard anything like this on Shady Records. This ALL BUFFALO. This can’t be compared to anything I’ve done before–it’s if FlyGod and Supreme Blientele had a baby.”

An 11-song outing, WSG is joined by Slick Rick (on two tracks), Jadakiss, Busta Rhymes, Stove God Cooks, Black Thought, Flee Lord, ElCamino, Smoke DZA, Estee Nack, and of course Benny the Butcher, Conway the Machine and Armani Caesar. Production is primarily handled by Daringer and Beat Butcha, with bonus contributions from Alchemist, Just Blaze (!!), and our guy d/will Conductor Williams.

Stream the album in its entirety, below.