Royce 5’9″ Delivers ‘Book of Ryan,’ His Most Personal Album to Date

blame it on Shake May 4, 2018

Royce 5’9″ delivers the Book of Ryan.

Less than a week after dropping PRhyme 2 with DJ Premier, Royce wasted no time in announcing his next solo album. And now, the rap world has been blessed with what the Detroit lyricist is calling his “greatest piece of work.”

“I put everything I had into this album (spiritually, mentally, physically, and financially) and I’m excited to finally share it with the world,” Royce told Complex.

“This is the perfect ME to share with people,” he later revealed to Rap-Up. “It’s not the negative me across the board. I still got a little bit of an edge, but I’m grown. I’m thinking right, I’m sharp, and I’m not stuck in a chamber where I’m just making dark music. I’m sober and able to be as introspective as possible. It’s the perfect time for me to open up.”

“I’m a master of storytelling now,” he adds. “I’m very, very good at being able to balance these different things that I’ve been able to learn to do over the years just as an artist and paint a picture for you.”

Locked in at 21 tracks, including “Boblo Boat” with J. Cole, “Dumb” with Boogie, “Stay Woke,” and the insanely dope “Caterpillar” with his Bad Meets Evil partner Eminem, the album also includes a posse cut with Pusha T, Jadakiss, and Fabolous, as well as contributions from T-Pain, Logic, Robert GlasperMarsha Ambrosius, and more.

Peep the tracklist, press play below, and be sure to add Book of Ryan on your preferred streaming platform.

  1. “Intro”
  2. “Woke”
  3. “My Parallel (Skit)”
  4. Caterpillar” f. Eminem & King Green
  5. “God Speed” f. Ashley Sorrell
  6. Dumb” f. Boogie
  7. “Who Are You (Skit)”
  8. “Cocaine”
  9. “Life Is Fair”
  10. Boblo Boat” f. J. Cole
  11. “Legendary”
  12. “Summer On Lock” f. Pusha T, Jadakiss & Fabolous
  13. “Amazing” f. Melanie Rutherford
  14. “Outside” f. Marsha Ambrosius & Robert Glasper
  15. “Power”
  16. “Protecting Ryan (Skit)”
  17. “Strong Friend”
  18. “Antyhing/Everything”
  19. Stay Woke” f. Ashley Sorrell
  20. “First of the Month” f. T-Pain & Chavis Chandler
  21. “Caterpillar (Remix)” f. Logic & King Green

“I just want the fans to hear my evolution as an artist as well as me as a man and learn from my mistakes,” Royce shares via press statement. “I think they got a little bit of that with Layers, but Book of Ryan is me letting it all out.”