Busta Rhymes Returns With ‘Extinction Level Event 2: The Wrath Of God’ Album

blame it on Meka October 30, 2020

Back in 1998 Busta Rhymes released his third album E.L.E. (Extinction Level Event): The Final World Front. Anchored by the singles “Gimme Some More” and the Janet Jackson-featured “What’s It Gonna Be?!” the album would be the rapper’s third platinum-selling album.

Busta hasn’t released a full body of work since 2015’s The Return of the Dragon (The Abstract Went on Vacation), and has consistently teased that a sequel to E.L.E. was on the way while keeping busy guiding the careers of O.T. Genasis and Stove God Cooks. Finally, almost twenty-two years to the day of the release of the first volume, Busta has released the sequel to Extinction Level Event, dubbed The Wrath Of God.

A 22-song release (lengthy albums have been a Busta staple throughout his entire career), Busta grabs a wide away of artists past and present to assist him throughout: Chris Rock, Rakim, Pete Rock, M.O.P., Bell Biv Devoe, Old Dirty Bastard, Q-Tip, Rick Ross, Rapsody, Mariah Carey, Kendrick Lamar,  Mary J BligeAnderson .Paak, and Vybz Kartel over production by Nottz, DJ Premier, J Dilla, Pete Rock, Swizz Beatz, 9th Wonder, Rick Rock, Hi-Tek, Terrace Martin, DJ Scratch, Rockwilder, and more.

  1. “E.L.E. 2 Intro” ft. Rakim, Pete Rock & Chris Rock (prod. Nottz)
  2. “The Purge” (prod. Swizz Beatz & Avenue)
  3. “Strap Yourself Down” (prod. J. Dilla & Pete Rock)
  4. “Czar” (prod. Rockwilder)
  5. “Outta My Mind” ft. Bell Biv DeVoe (prod. Dready)
  6. “The Wrath of God” ft. Minister Louis Farrakhan (prod. Nottz)
  7. “Slow Flow” ft. ODB (prod. Nottz)
  8. “Don’t Go” ft. Q-Tip (prod. Focus the A.R.M)
  9. “Boomp!” (prod. DJ Scratch)
  10. “True Indeed” (prod. DJ Premier)
  11. “Master Fard Muhammad” ft. Rick Ross (prod. Hi-Tek & Terrace Martin)
  12. “YUUUU” ft. Anderson .Paak (prod. Anderson .Paak)
  13. “Oh No” (prod. Dready)
  14. “The Don & The Boss” ft. Vybz Kartel (prod. Schife)
  15. “Best I Can” ft. Rapsody (prod. 9th Wonder)
  16. “Where I Belong” ft. Mariah Carey (prod. Navi Beats & Rick Rock)
  17. “Deep Thought” (prod. Busta Rhymes)
  18. “The Young God Speaks”
  19. “Look Over Your Shoulder” ft. Kendrick Lamar (prod. Nottz)
  20. “You Will Never Find Another One” ft. Mary J Blige (prod. Busta Rhymes)
  21. “Freedom?” ft. Nikki Grier (prod. Nottz)
  22. “Satanic” (prod. Rockwilder)

Led by the singles “Look Over Your Shoulder,” “The Don & The Boss” and “YUUUU,” the album can be heard in its entirety below.