Jay Electronica FINALLY Drops Debut Album, ‘A Written Testimony’

blame it on Meka March 13, 2020

So… can you believe this is actually happening?! The 2012 (and much, much less curmudgeon-y) version of me is hyped!

So, ten years after signing to Roc Nation, Jay Electronica has finally released his debut album, A Written Testimony. And while the album – using Jay E. mathematics – was initially rumored to drop March 17th/18th, it is officially available tonight (March 13).

Jay Elect scheduled a series of listening sessions throughout the country tonight (March 12), but with the COVID-19 pandemic gripping the nation entire planet had all but canceled the in-person events. So, instead, Jay livestreamed the album for everyone to hear for the first time, together.

After already revealing the the ten-song tracklist earlier, the project is finally here. In this writer’s opinion, it was totally worth the wait.

Jay-Z is all over this album: he guests on all but two tracks. There’s production from Alchemist (!), No I.D., Swizz Beatz, Hit-Boy, and several cuts laced by Jay Elect himself. And the best part? He actually came through on his promise after all this time.

  1. “The Overwhelming Event” (prod. Jay Elect)
  2. “Ghost of Soulja Slim” f. Jay-Z (prod. Jay Elect)
  3. “The Blinding” f. Jay-Z & Travis Scott (prod. AraabMUZIK, G.Ry, Hit-Boy & Swizz Beatz)
  4. “The Neverending Story” f. Jay-Z (prod. Alchemist)
  5. “Shiny Suit Theory” f. Jay-Z & The-Dream (prod. Jay Elect)
  6. “Universal Soldier” f. Jay-Z (prod. Jay Elect)
  7. “Flux Capacitor” f. Jay-Z (prod. Jay Elect)
  8. “Fruits of the Spirit” (prod. No I.D.)
  9. “Ezekiel’s Wheel” f. Jay-Z & The-Dream (prod. Jay Elect)
  10. “A.P.I.D.T.A.” f. Jay-Z (prod. Khruangbin)

Not much can be said now, it’s time to listen to the album. Hear it below.